The Lost World Series (5 Vols.) - Olive Tree Bible Software

Enjoy Big Christmas Savings - in July! Up to 75% Off!

The Lost World Series (5 Vols.)

For the Olive Tree Bible App

The Lost World Series (5 Vols.)

Sorry, this title is not available !


Click on a feature to learn more.

Tap on a feature to learn more.

  • Linked Verses

Available for:
iPad, iPhone, Android, Mac, and Windows.

The Lost World Series (5 Vols.)

For the Olive Tree Bible App

Title: The Lost World Series (5 Vols.)
Publisher: InterVarsity Press (IVP)
Author: John H. Walton


You have reached an inactive product page for the Lost World Series. Please see our new set here:
Lost World Series (6 Vols.)

There are some historical or biblical issues that are inherently controversial—which is why they remain issues of debate. The books in the Lost World Series follow the pattern set by Bible scholar John H. Walton as they bring a fresh, close reading of the Hebrew text to an accessible discussion of the topic at hand.

Addressed through propositions that move the reader through a logical sequence of the principal points of discussion, these volumes are informed by knowledge of the ancient Near Eastern literature and cognitive environment, and undergirded by a consistently applied hermeneutic. Authors seek to find God's authoritative message in the text represented in the communication as understood by the human source (speaker or writer) and his audience—working out the principle that the Bible is written for us, but not to us.

The intention with the Lost World Series is not to offer the single "correct" interpretation of the given text. These books seek, instead, to provide an interpretation based on a conviction that the Bible is the Word of God—Scripture that speaks truly. The goal is not to convert the reader to the author's conclusions, or even to persuade the reader to adopt their way of thinking. Instead, this series seeks to bring information to the reader's attention that has helped the authors as they have struggled with the passages.

Learn more about the individual volumes in this series through the links below:
Lost World of Adam and Eve: Genesis 2-3 and the Human Origins Debate
The Lost World of Genesis One: Ancient Cosmology and the Origins Debate
Lost World of Scripture: Ancient Literary Culture and Biblical Authority
The Lost World of the Flood: Mythology, Theology, and the Deluge Debate
Lost World of the Israelite Conquest: Covenant, Retribution, and the Fate of the Canaanites

You might also like…

Sign Into Your Olive Tree Account

Need to set up an account? Create Account.

Click Star to Rate